Question: How Has Fair Housing Law Impacted The Brokerage Community?

Why is the Fair Housing Act so important?

It seeks to ensure that nobody is discriminated against in property transactions on the basis of his or her protected class.

The Importance of Fair Housing Act lies in the fact that brokers, sellers, lenders, and insurers cannot adopt discriminatory policies against people in the protected class..

What is the best strategy to use when dealing with a tester?

What is the best strategy to use when dealing with a tester? Treat the tester as any other buyer. Hand-off the tester to your broker.

Who investigates complaints filed with HUD?

FHEOFHEO investigates complaints, which may be one or both of the following types: Discrimination under the Fair Housing Act (including housing that is privately owned and operated) Discrimination and other civil rights violations in housing and community development programs, including those funded by HUD.

What was the impact of the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability. The act has two main purposes—prevent discrimination and reverse housing segregation.

Who does Fair Housing Act apply?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) is the primary law that protects the rights of tenants across the U.S. Since it’s a federal law, it applies in all the 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. Under the FHA jurisdiction, the law applies to almost all housing situations.

Who is not protected under fair housing laws?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

What are the three keys to good ethical practices?

A: There are three key pillars to building and maintaining an ethical business culture: principled leadership, equitable systems and ethical citizenship. Principled leaders articulate their values, make decisions guided by their values and consistently model their values.

What are the requirements of the Fair Housing Act?

It is illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing, including against individuals seeking a mortgage or housing assistance, or in other housing-related activities. The Fair Housing Act prohibits this discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability.

How many actions are prohibited under the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act has evolved over the last 100 years or more. Today, the law prohibits discrimination based on the following protected classes: age, sex, race, color, marital status, familial status, physical or mental disability, religious creed, or national origin.

What action can a judge take when a community is found in violation of the Fair Housing Act?

If the ALJ concludes a violation of the Fair Housing Act occurred, the following relief can be ordered: Compensation for your actual damages, including out-of-pocket expenses and emotional distress damages. Permanent injunctive relief, such as an order not to discriminate.

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1988?

In addition to strengthening Title VIII’s enforcement provisions, the 1988 Amendments also brought within its protective embrace two additional groups. Under the Amendments, it is now illegal to discriminate against families with children and against persons with physical or mental disabilities.

What does Fair Housing do?

Fair housing is the right to choose housing free from unlawful discrimination. Federal, state and local fair housing laws protect people from discrimination in housing transactions such as rentals, sales, lending, and insurance.

What is the purpose of sending fair housing testers to rental communities?

What is the purpose of sending fair housing “testers” to rental communities? To learn if the community treats customers differently due to their membership in a protected class.

What your landlord Cannot do?

Landlords cannot enter tenanted properties without giving proper notice and cannot end someone’s tenancy before the lease expires. Rent increases are not permitted unless otherwise specified in the lease or by the municipality. The Fair Housing Act prohibits a landlord from discriminating against tenants.

What are the 4 types of discrimination?

The 4 types of DiscriminationDirect discrimination.Indirect discrimination.Harassment.Victimisation.

How much can you sue for housing discrimination?

It’s fair to be angry and scared—the direct federal fines for violations of the Fair Housing Act are usually $17,000 per violation; total settlements on race, familial status, age and sex discrimination cases often reach well into the six figures—but those overwhelming emotions are why you should go straight to your …

Why does HUD test for housing discrimination?

Fair housing testing was first approved by the Supreme Court in 1982. The purpose of fair housing testing is to determine the likelihood that illegal housing discrimination is occurring.

Landlords cannot treat a tenant adversely or unequally based on that tenants actual or perceived race, color, ancestry, national origin, place of birth, sex, age, religion, creed, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, source of income, weight, or height.